clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Alex Ovechkin Wins the Hart Trophy

The Caps' captain claims the title of NHL MVP for the third time in his career


Alex Ovechkin has been awarded the Hart Trophy for the 2013 season - the award is given annually given to the player judged to be the most valuable to his team.

Ovechkin finished the 2013 regular season with a League-best 32 goals, 16 of which came on the power play, and 56 points - third-most, tied with fellow finalist Sidney Crosby. His 22 goals and 41 points in the final 29 games helped the Caps to a 20-7-2 record over that stretch and led them to their sixth straight playoff spot, as well as the team's fifth division title in the last six years.

With the win, Ovechkin becomes the eighth player in NHL history to earn the Hart Trophy at least three times in his career, joining Wayne Gretzky, Gordie Howe, Eddie Shore, Bobby Clarke, Mario Lemieux, Howie Morenz and Bobby Orr. He has been a finalist four times, the last time in the 2009-10 season.