clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Noon Number: Top of the Class

A look at some rarefied air for the Metropolitan Division champs

Montreal Canadiens v Washington Capitals Photo by Patrick Smith/Getty Images

9 - Number of division titles earned by the Capitals over the last 12 years, earning the Southeast Division crown five times (2007-08 through 2010-11 and again in 2012-13) and the Metropolitan Division each of the last four years. No other team in the NHL has won as many over that span - the closest are Anaheim and Vancouver, who have each accumulated five division titles since the 2007-08 season.

In fact, dating back to 1999-00, when the Caps brought home their first non-Patrick Division title, they’ve captured 11 of the last 19, which is also tops in the League (Detroit rolls into second with nine over that span).

As we all know by now, winning the division is just the first step on a long journey - but before the Caps begin that journey again, it’s worth taking just a second to appreciate just what they’ve been able to accomplish over the years.

Now... onward to the postseason.