clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

The Noon Number: Two-Term Presidents

New, comments

If at first you don't succeed...

Photo by Mitchell Layton/NHLI via Getty Images

2 - Number of times the Capitals will have won the Presidents' Trophy after clinching this year's (their first since 2009-10) with a win last night.

The Caps are the tenth team to win the award (which was first given out following the 1985-86 season) multiple times, and while first-time winners have gone 0-for-15 in terms of Stanley Cup wins in their Presidents' Trophy campaigns, six of the nine multiple winners actually did go on to win that more meaningful prize their second time around. Here's how the nine second-timers stack up:

Year Team Points Playoff Result
1986-87 Edmonton Oilers 105 Won Stanley Cup
1988-89 Calgary Flames 117 Won Stanley Cup
1993-94 New York Rangers 112 Won Stanley Cup
1995-96 Detroit Red Wings 131 Lost Conference Finals
1998-99 Dallas Stars 114 Won Stanley Cup
2000-01 Colorado Avalanche 118 Won Stanley Cup
2011-12 Vancouver Canucks 111 Lost Conference Quarterfinals
2012-13 Chicago Blackhawks 77 Won Stanley Cup
2013-14 Boston Bruins 117 Lost Conference Semifinals
2015-16 Washington Capitals ??? ???

(h/t Wiki)