clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Monumental Sports and Entertainment Brings the AFL To Washington DC

New, comments

Ted Leonsis welcomes an Arena Football League team to the Monumental Sports family.

Geoff Burke-USA TODAY Sports

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Monumental Sports & Entertainment (MSE) today announced the acquisition of an Arena Football League (AFL) team, which will play at Verizon Center starting in spring 2017. The as-yet unnamed Washington AFL team joins eight other teams in the AFL.

"We're extremely excited to acquire an AFL team for Washington, adding Arena Football to the mix of the best sports teams in town," said Monumental Sports & Entertainment founder and majority owner Ted Leonsis. "D.C. is a ‘Super City' with a fan base that spans across the DMV region, and being able to provide another family-centric sports option to our community is an important endeavor."

Monumental Sports & Entertainment also owns the NBA's Washington Wizards, NHL's Washington Capitals and WNBA's Washington Mystics.

"Monumental Sports & Entertainment, led by majority owner, Chairman and CEO Ted Leonsis, is an ideal partner for the Arena Football League," said commissioner Scott C. Butera who led the League's effort to land its newest team. "The group combines high-quality sports team operations with world-class facilities management to produce exceptional entertainment. In addition to their success in one of the nation's largest markets, they also are proven leaders in sports marketing and entertainment technology. I am quite confident that the AFL will benefit greatly from their involvement."

"Arena Football is such an exciting sport to be bringing to the D.C. area," said Roger Mody, a member of the Monumental Sports & Entertainment ownership group and managing partner for the AFL team. "The new team will provide another great entertainment option for fans at Verizon Center starting next year. We're thrilled to become a part of the league and to bring another member into the MSE fold."

The Arena Football League was founded in 1987 and will be entering its 29th season in 2016 with 20 million fans across the United States. The AFL will now consist of nine teams starting in 2017 spread between two conferences: the American Conference and the National Conference. Each team plays 16 games with two bye weeks during the April-to-August season.

About AFL
Since its inception in 1987, the Arena Football League has showcased a fast-paces and exciting game to millions of fans in a myriad of markets across the country. The ESPN family of networks and CBS Sports Network nationally broadcast AFL games each week, culminating with the ArenaBowl on ESPN.

You can check out the new team's Twitter here.